Political system of the EU and European Institutions

Teacher responsible: Prof. dr Tanja Miščević / dr Nikoleta Đukanović

This course is compulsory on the BSc and is available on the undergraduate program: Humanistic studies, Department: International Relations and Diplomacy; Department: European Studies.

Course content:
Subject aims: The student acquires knowledge of the institutions of the European Union. Consideration of the specifics of the institutions of the European Union, the vertical and horizontal distribution of power, as well as the policies that are implemented in the Union. The students will acquire knowledge of the institutions of the European Union. In addition, students will gain an overview of European history from the specific perspective of ideas on political cooperation and collaboration that they will be able to place into a broader cultural and societal context. They will acquire knowledge on the European Union necessary to intellectuals and citizens in order to grasp their political reality. They will improve their writing skills and public performance skills as well as their ability to work in a group. By fulfilling the course requirements, the students will have an experience of a complex group research project.

Teaching: 15 hours of lectures and 20 hours of seminars.

Module outcomes:
Students will increase knowledge and competences in the following topics:

  • European Union: the political system, but not the state;
  • How does the political system of the EU work?
  • Distribution of responsibilities in policies of the EU;
  • The separation of powers, decision-making processes and the division of powers among the Bodies of the Union;
  • Executive policy - theory of executive power, delegating responsibilities and discretionary rights;
  • Legislative policy - theory of legislative coalitions and organizations in the legislative process;
  • Judicial policy;
  • The EU institutions I: The European Council and the Council of Ministers;
  • The EU institutions II: The European Commission;
  • The EU institutions III: The European Parliament;
  • The EU institutions IV: The European Court of Justice and the Acquis;
  • The EU institutions V: The European Central Bank;
  • Other bodies of the Union (Court of Auditors, the EIB, Com. Of the region, the Agency, Ombudsman);
  • The Lisbon Treaty and EU political system.

The main teaching and studying methods will be consisted of: Interactive lectures; Use of audio and visual material; Organized visits of relevant scientific events/conferences; Organized visits of relevant public events (round tables, debates, conference panels, visiting lectures); Presentation of group research projects in the classroom; Discussion of group research projects in the classroom.

Recommended literature will include classical textbooks on Political System of EU accompanied with specialized papers: Simon Hix, The Political System of the European Union, 2011; Maja Kovačević, Gospodari evropske integracije, FPN, 2016; Tanja Mišćević (ur.), Ugovor iz Lisabona - sigurna luka ili početak novog putovanja?, Službeni glasnik, Beograd, 2011. godine; V. Knežević-Predić, Zoran Radivojević, Instituije i pravo EU, Beograd, 2016.

Logo of University of Montenegro


UDG logo

TEPSA header blue2